Tags

, , , , , , ,


There are places you imagine you’d never get to. Whether it be cost, impossibility of access or other factors, these remain dream destinations.

Bordeaux was once upon a time a dream destination. I never thought I would ever get to Bordeaux. I thought to get there, you must be really rich and buy a ton of first growths to be invited or work for a huge wine-related company.

While I do work for a relatively large company, it was a Bordelais friend who welcomed me to Bordeaux! THANKS JP!

Bordeaux was everything I imagined and more. From the moment I stepped on to their airport, I was mesmerized, especially when we got to the vineyard areas and chateaus.

Right when I landed, my friend took me to Chateau Pape Clement where he used to work.

DSC_3302 DSC_3317 DSC_3310 DSC_3303

IMG_6110_2

Initially, i was just supposed to hang around but since Vin Expo was going on, I decided to pop by as well.

IMG_6137

Vin Expo was madness for me. It was my first time to attend and it was huge. If I didn’t have my friends with me, I wouldn’t even know where to start.

I just ended up helping them taste wines for their company.

We didn’t really spend a lot of time at VinExpo. We chose to venture out. Since my friend was a local, we got to go to a lot of places and meet a lot of people.

The highlight of my trip was the dinner at Chateau Haut Brion.

IMG_6193

IMG_6199_2

I dressed up for what I thought was a formal dinner. I stepped into a formal dinner for ROYALTY with the Prince of Luxembourg.

I was a little bit intimidated. But I plowed through. I ended up a lot of their food, with the estate director noticing my, ahem, healthy appetite.

This dinner was the most complicated and lavish dinner I’ve ever attended.

Clean, pressed white uniforms with gloves, full Russian service, Haut Brion wines and amazing, French food made specially for that event.

I’m from the Third World. We never get to see these dinners. Not even at the Presidential palace.

I kept pinching myself to see if it was real. Even to this day, I still can’t believe i made it there.

I also was thrilled to see St. Emilion and Pomerol. We drove around there and it was magical.

We got to see Chateau Beau Sejour-Becot and saw their underground cellar.

Really interesting stories of how the Bordelais kept their wines safe during the war.

IMG_6237_2

DSC_3488

We also did a tasting and hung out at their patio. Really awesome place to hold a wine and BBQ party.

DSC_3497DSC_3501IMG_6246_2

We then proceeded to Chateau Belle-Brise where the owner treated us to a delightful lunch. The food was heaven and the setting was very quaint. I loved every moment of it. MERCI BEAUCOUP!

DSC_3506DSC_3527DSC_3528IMG_6259IMG_6264

Also got to see Old Town St. Emilion and had some Cremant and those famous macaroons/cookies.

DSC_3610DSC_3609DSC_3621DSC_3623 DSC_3648 DSC_3621 DSC_3619I

I also loved downtown Bordeaux. Very charming.

IMG_6224

DSC_3383 DSC_3356 DSC_3348 DSC_3384

We ate at this downtown restaurant called Le Petit Commerce. I think we spent 5 hours there just eating and drinking. HAHA

IMG_6119 IMG_6118_2IMG_6126 IMG_6124 IMG_6123 IMG_6122 IMG_6121

They say Bordelais are snobbish. But I didn’t get that at all. I love them!

Maybe it’s because of the affinity for wine.

I can’t wait to come back. Maybe someday.

