Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


The story of how I got into the world of wine is pretty simple.
I went to the CIA, not knowing a single thing about wine, except that my parents drank it occasionally, and that it tasted like awful grape juice.
I entered my wines class, scared shitless, but came out at the end on top, and newly converted.
Professor Weiss actually used Brachetto D’Acqui to convert me (paired with a chocolate tart) but the wine I fell in love with was really a German Riesling.
From then on, I dreamed about going to Germany.
7 years later, I finally made it!

I arrived in Frankfurt and my host Wilhelm picked me up and we drove straight to Rheingau for my first tasting.You know Wine tasting is serious business when you head straight from the airport to your first tasting at Weingut Knyphausen.

Untitled

The right side of the photo is dirty because that’s what you get when you step out of a plane into wine region and get super excited that you forget to check your camera.

Untitled

This awesome dog greeted me as son as I stepped down from the car!
Untitled

Watched the guy tend the vines for a bit before we went to the tasting room.
Untitled

With the winemaker!
Untitled

Some of the wines that I tasted…

Then off to Rheinhessen and Schloss Johannisberg…
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

What a nice place to hangout and drink wine in the spring!
Untitled

Untitled
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Jesuit vineyard across his house and tasting room…

Untitled

Sweet Rhodesian Ridgeback!
Untitled

Untitled
Untitled

Photo with the winemaker/owners! And the Rhodesian Ridgeback shaking my hand!
Untitled

We saw a little bit of downtown and had lunch in this great tavern.
Untitled

Untitled

Schnitzel, anyone?
Untitled

I really love the charm of these small German towns. I’ve lived in big cities all my life so it’s really a great experience to be in these towns so different from the places I’ve lived in.
Untitled
Untitled

Untitled

After lunch, we went across the river to Mosel.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
Untitled

Drove to Prinz Salm

Various slate/soil around the vineyards…

Untitled

Untitled

Awesome underground tasting/function room…
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

We went to their old house which was destroyed during the World Wars.
Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

We drove to the top of the Urzinger Wurzgarten gardens and the view was amazing!!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Bud break…
Untitled

Packed slate/rock formation…

Untitled

From there, you can see something off. They are building a bridge through the landscape and the winemakers are fighting against it.

Untitled

Here’s one panoramic photo.
Untitled

We headed back down to make our appointment at Jos Joh Prum.

Untitled

Untitled

With Katarina Prum!

Untitled

Untitled

She served us an amazing dinner! Thank you, Katarina!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

And with that, I was pooped…and jetlagged.

Germany Day 1 was an amazing experience. Couldn’t wait for Day 2.

But first, some much needed rest at a quaint B&B.

