Tags

, , , , , , ,


I was able to get in through trade tickets given to me by The Straits Wine Company and I came early to Whitespace to try the wines before they let the general public in. 

See how it’s nice and quiet when I arrived.

Untitled

Untitled

The area was well-organized with the table arrangements, matching the arrangement of the wines in the tasting book they gave us. I tried to taste systematically, even spitting at the beginning, but each year, I always fail, and the next thing I know, I’m all over the place.

Untitled

<pUntitled

Took my sweet time in the Germany and Austria section, tasting every single thing that they had to offer. 

Untitled

Untitled

Found a winner in the Prinz Von Hessen Riesling Dachsfilet 2011 and Laurenz V Friendly Gruner Veltliner.  I liked the Dachsfilet for its complexity, although shy on the aroma, had a lot of underlying flavors of old citrus, white peach, lychee with slight oxidative notes (but not to a fault). It was one of the more interesting Rieslings I’ve had since the Grosses Gewachs and Erst Lager lectures of Joel Payne earlier this year. 

The Gruner was pretty awesome too, no notes on my tasting book, because I think I just rushed off to reserve myself a bottle of each (Riesling and Gruner). 

Decided to then just go off and have a rose which was fantastic. Aix from Provence, France. 

Untitled

I also bought myself a bottle. They were also giving away cute pink cork keychains. I only got one but I should have gotten more. 

Then I dropped by my favorites, the Italians. 

Untitled

Really appreciating the Barone Ricasoli  Rocca Guicciarda Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 during Joel Payne’s “Masterclass” which we rushed off to attend about 6:30pm. It smelled a lot like foot but had so much complexity which I love about Italian wines. Sour cherry, really earthy, tarrish. I carry the Brolio Chianti Classico in the restaurant so I skipped tasting that wine already.

Headed over to Marco Felluga for his Pinot Grigio which I’ve had before but just want to drink again to remind myself. 

Untitled

Then it was time for Joel Payne’s Masterclass so went over to that one. 

Untitled

Untitled

See my ridiculous scribbles on the tasting mat.

Untitled

Then we went back in the tasting room so we could finish off the rest of the wines.

I introduced my friend to Brokenwood because Alan, our master somm instructor, gave us a Brokenwood Semillon 1995 as a reward for our class one day to try. I remember it already being a little oxidated but it was still pretty amazing.

Untitled

This one is obviously much fresher than the one that we had. Still sweet, but not cloying.

Untitled

Tried a few cognacs.

Untitled

I could barely get this down my throat by this time.

We still attended the Riesling and Gruner Veltliner Masterclass (we’re such geeks).

Untitled

Until I finally decided, I should probably head out while I could still walk properly.

I collected and paid for my bottles and set off for home, happy and geeky. 

Untitled

By the way, I really loved that Vina Pedrosa La Navila 2009 from Ribera Del Duero. I forgot to take a photo of the table while I was tasting it but I managed to remember to buy it, which was an awesome thing.

Thanks Straits Wine for another awesome event!

 

