On the last day that I was leaving San Francisco for Chicago, I decided to eat at Masa’s and dragged my classmate K along with me. K’s arm need not to be pulled. She was all in.

Fortunately, one of our awesome teachers is the sommelier there. He taught us so many things and we will forever be indebted to him for our wine knowledge. We couldn’t wait to see what wine and food pairings we would have.

Here’s the dining room. It feels like a really cozy lounge. I like the lighting they have there. It makes it easier for me to be a dork and take food photos with my giant camera. I think if I had hired the whole restaurant for a night, after dinner, I would make them dim the lights and play chill electronica while drinking fantastic wines. HAHA That’s my clubbing personality talking.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Here’s the wine list.

Untitled

K and I browsed through it and we were proud to say that we knew most of the wines listed there. However, knowing them is very different from being to afford them. We closed it and sighed and decided to get the wine pairings for the tasting menu.

We got started with a Billecart Salmon Rose Champagne to celebrate our passing the certified sommelier examination.

When the food started coming, I was officially distracted. I didn’t take notes because it would take so much time so I just enjoyed the meal. I did take down the wines that were paired with them for educational purposes.

These are the courses without the descriptions. I hope the pictures convey the delicious flavors and textures.

If not, well, better luck next time. Hardy har har.

Untitled

I remember the shrimp on this dish being perfectly cooked and so delicate and creamy. I don’t usually like shrimp but I really enjoyed this dish.

Here are the rest of the dishes, the names of which I can’t remember. I have the worst memory in the world and if I don’t write down things, I won’t remember them. All that matters is I can still remember how they tasted in my mouth!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I took some photos of some wines we had but the rest I wrote down without photos.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Other wines we had:
1. Wakate Sake Junmai
2. 2010 Domaine Chotard Sancerre – this wine was phenomenal with the course that it was paired. It really reminded me of home because it tasted like the sea, very minerally, briny and fresh.
3. 2006 Ici La Has Victoria Elke Vineyard Anderson Valley
4. 2010 Quenard Chignin Bergeron Von de Savoir
5. Cossart Gordon Madeira
6. 2007 Lancaster Gordon Estate Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvginon

Drop by Masa’s in SF if you want to re-create our experience or even go above and beyond it!

Masa’s
648 Bush Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
Reservations: 415.989.7154

P.S. Take me with you.

