Tags

, , , , ,


Apologies. I’ve been lacking in posting. 

My certification test is coming up and we’re getting ready to get roasted by master sommeliers, asking us the difference between scotch and rye whisky, what aperitif we would offer, or where Chateau Palmer is from. 

I have some free time today as I just graduated and I’m really not going to hit the books after I’ve had 5 glasses of sparkling wine and 2 glasses of red wine.

So here we are.

Why New Mexico?

One of my very best friends lives in New Mexico and this is actually my 2nd time to visit her. The first time was when she was carefree and single. This time, she had a brand new baby!!!!

This is Dawson.

Untitled

My main purpose to go to New Mexico was to see her and her baby. The second purpose was, what else….TO EAT!

I started my day in New Mexico with a homemade breakfast by my friend’s fantastic parents. I think this was New Mexican omelette with avocado and fresh fruit. I didn’t even listen. I just scarfed both down. 

So good! Made with fresh ingredients!

Untitled

Untitled

I’m not really a fruit eater. But when I’m presented with vibrant colors and chopped pieces of fruit, I relent. You can also say I’m too lazy to eat fruit. HAHA!

We then drove down to Santa Fe to hang out and eat some more. I love Santa Fe. I always feel like a hippy when I’m there. There’s so much interesting architecture and art around and everyone’s so chill.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

My friend H took me to this awesome restaurant called The Shed and I got Blue Corn Enchilidas with Red Chile and not one, but two MARGARITAS!!!! Best cocktail ever!

I ate the whole thing (even though normally I would just half) cause it was that good! I missed New Mexican cuisine. I hadn’t been back in 4 years. 

Untitled

Untitled

The Margaritas were admittedly quite strong so at 2:00 PM, I was kinda buzzed. Good thing we were walking around after.

We visited her workplace which was like a resort and they had stables! Her boss gave me some carrots to feed the horses! 

Untitled

Untitled

I L-O-V-E horses so I was really grateful to her chef that he let me feed the horses.

We did some more sightseeing before heading over to her house as we were pooped from touring and carrying a baby all day!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

The next day, she brought me to Tia Sophia’s, which was like a trademark restaurant in Santa Fe and guess what? More yumminess!

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

My flight was on that day so we didn’t have a lot of time anymore. She took me to have sopapillas (a must-do in New Mexico) before I got on the flight back to California.

Untitled

Fresh sopapillas and honey?! HEAVEN!!!! You should try it.

Drop by New Mexico! It’s totally different and totally awesome!

By the way, I met two amazing boys on this trip. 

Meet Gus and Beao!!! HAHAHAHAAH

Untitled

Untitled

I’m blogging about my THCO and Thirsty Bear Brewery visit in SF next. Let me just get through this certification.

LATER!!!!

 

