Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Let me count the ways.

Riesling, Gewurztraminer, Muscat, Pinot Gris. That’s 4.

Add Vendage Tardive and Selection De Grains Nobles. That’s 6.

Now you know, I am a whitehead. I LOVE, LOVE WHITE WINES.

Here are the recent amazing white wines I’ve had in class from Alsace. I don’t think I’ll ever get to drink this at home cause if you convert them into Philippine Pesos, these bottles are quite pricey. HA HA

Alsace Wine Flight

DSC02269

Pierre Sparr Cremant D’Alsace Rose Brut NV – tastes like bubbly strawberries and apples and citrus in cream

DSC02273

Domaine Weinbach Riesling Reserve Personnel 2008 – tastes like peach, apricot, and melon, minimal petrol, stony and briny

DSC02274 

Trimbach Cuvee Frederick Emile Riesling 2004 – this one is more on the Petrol side and on the cooked peaches and apricots versus the previous wine which was more fresh apricots. Comes off very waxy; 

DSC02275

Kuentz-Bas Pinot Gris Tradition 2008 – my teacher said one thing that captured it, it tastes like envelopes when you lick it. I Don’t know about you, but when I was younger, I spent a lot of time licking envelopes. I liked the taste and also I was writing letters to my friends all over the world. 

DSC02276

Zind-Humbrecht Clos Saint Urbain Rangen Pinot Gris 2008 – first time I’ve had a wine like this! Very interesting. First of all, it was golden brown! A Pinot Gris? but golden brown! Really strange to me! It tasted like dried raisins but mushroomy, so not quite a dessert wine. I have absolutely no idea what to pair this with. Cheese, maybe?

DSC02277

Coming up is my favorite for the day: Lucien Albrecht Gewurztraminer Reserve 2010 – first impressions to me were laundry detergent and Lemon Pledge. That doesn’t sound very appetizing but that’s the aroma. When you drink it, it’s very tropical, the trademark lychee quality, tropical fruits plus spice! I would take this back home and drink a case of this right now in my backyard. It’s summer right now back home and absolutely roasting.

DSC02278

Domaine Zind-Humbrech Goldert Muscat 2009 – tastes like canned fruit/canned peaches/fruit cocktail!

DSC02279

And finally, Meyer Fonne Riesling Vendage Tardive 2008 – this actually reminds me of turon, which is like a fried banana dessert with jackfruit. The jackfruit aromas and flavors are very apparent here. I really wanted to eat a turon. But then I could do with a foie gras, or maybe some fruit tart like a peach cobbler or something. 

DSC02280

Tomorrow is Burgundy. While I love Burgundy whites, I’m not too sure how i feel about Burgundy Reds. I’ll drink them more than Rhone Rangers for sure. 

