Tags

, , , ,


Our wines class had our field trip recently at Bonny Doon Winery. 

Chalk it up to me being the international student because I was the only one who did not know what Bonny Doon was and who Randall Graham was. Everyone I spoke to knew who he was and had unified ideas about who he was. Basically, he’s the visionary of Rhone grape winemaking in California, and well, just a visionary in winemaking in general in the United States. 

We were taken to his newest site near San Juan Battista as the viticulture part of our trip where they were growing experimental grape varieties. The  manager Nicole explained to us various concepts in winemaking, among them biodynamics. I’m a tree hugger but I’m not very good at growing plants so while it was interesting, I could barely keep up with the conversation. 

Untitled

The place was amazing even though it was relatively bare. The weather was cool and perfect. I kept thinking, “If only I had a horse…and my dogs here, this would have been awesome.” So much space to play and run around and roll around. 

Untitled

Untitled

Look how green the place is! 

No MALLS!!!! (This is in reference to the local mall company who keep cutting trees and destroying the environment in the Philippines to build more malls every 2 miles. Yes, I’m talking about you SM!!!!!!!)

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Here are the baby vine wood stocks.

Untitled

These are my classmates walking about the site.

Untitled

After that trip, we headed over to the viniculture part of our trip, at the Bonny Doon Tasting Room and Restaurant in Santa Cruz, CA. 

Untitled

Untitled

Randall Graham’s wines

Untitled

Untitled

They got us started with our introductory tasting while waiting for Randall Graham.

Untitled

We then met Mr. Graham and he led us to his cellar/holding room with all the barrels where he shared with us his thoughts on winemaking. 

Untitled

We also got to taste some of their upcoming releases. 

Untitled

I personally enjoyed the Carinena one. It was like drinking Flintstones vitamins!

Untitled

Untitled

Here he showed us where he racks the wines and gets rid of the sediment. See the lees on the bottom. 

Untitled

He also showed us the bottling part of his warehouse and that was really cool. I had never seen wine being bottled before. 

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Off to shipping!

Untitled

Untitled

More thoughts on winemaking…

Untitled

This caught my eye because it was awarded by my school!

Untitled

For the last part of our trip, Randall Graham made us taste the same wine aged in the giant barrel and the smaller barrel. What a difference in flavor and structure! 

The tasting list…

Untitled

Finally, I caught a photo of the kitchen preparing for dinner service. I totally would like a restaurant with the same ambiance as this. 

Hopefully, more wine adventures for me.

‘Till Next Time! 

