Tags

, , , , , ,


Out of all the restaurants that I ate at, this was the most expensive one. To think this was lunch.

I set out on the 6 train for 23rd street and walked past Shake Shack to get to here.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

The interiors were warm and cozy, and very welcoming as it was bright with sunlight streaming in through the large windows.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

I was one of the first guests there, easily the youngest.

The sommelier greeted me with a fat book of wine which I perused. I could only get a glass because I was by myself.

I chose a glass of Assyrtico, Gaia, Thalassitis, Santorini, Cyclades, Greece 2010.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Right next to my wine glass is that fat book.

Then I chose my set menu from a piece of white cardboard with a main ingredient listed on a 16 grid (4 down, 4 across) and you choose which item you want and customized your menu.

I chose Rabbit, Ricotta, Beef and Pistachio. I would have chosen Octopus, Lobster, Pork and Sheep’s Milk but I’m allergic to Lobster and i really love pistachio.

They gave me some pate choux to start.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Then Tomato Tarragon Tea. This one was really interesting and quite surprising. They basically combined the juices of tomato and made it into tea by infusing it with tarragon. Pretty amazing stuff and thought about doing it at home except I’d have to go through tons of tomatoes.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Then they gave me this “Potato Lavache” they call it. I thought it was Parmesan crisps haha. Do they make this on a Silpat or something?

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

After this one, they gave me Goat Cheese encoated with Beetroot Powder. I loved this one because I love goat cheese even though I’m not a big fan of beetroot. The beetroot powder gave an interesting texture because it was like furry and bit of sweet in your mouth, but then the goat cheese comes out and it’s sticky and salty and really creamy.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

The next course was a sturgeon sabayon which was like eating caviar and egg.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Please note that I haven’t even started my first course yet. These were my pre-courses to my first course.

Here is my first course rabbit rillette with pistachio and cherries and some other stuff I didn’t hear because I was distracted by the color combination.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Pretty interesting rillette as I’ve never had rabbit in a rillette. Pretty mild flavors and the pistachios and the cherries helped the dish pop out.

Then they gave me bread with butter made from sheep’s milk and cow’s milk.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

I love the sheep’s milk butter! So luscious and mild at the same time.

Ricotta gnudi was next with artichoke and olives. Gnudi is a type of gnocchi made from ricotta cheese…who doesn’t love ricotta cheese??? Wanted more actually, they should have an option that says “Extra large portion”.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

By this time, my Assyrtico had run out so I ordered a glass of red for my beef.
I chose a Chateau Haut-Segottes, Grand Cru, Saint-Emilion Bordeaux, France 2006.

Pretty light red although medium body and has a long finish of black fruit (black currants).

It went with my beef bordelaise quite well despite the lightness of the wine. I’m not a big full body Cab Sauv/Shiraz drinker anyway.

Here’s that beef bordelaise plate with roasted bone marrow and sweet breads.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Before dessert, the server came up with a gueridon and mixed this Horchata like drink in front of me. I have no more notes for this course as my brain has fizzled from the amalgam of flavors.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

And finally, dessert. I chose pistachio but I won even more when I saw that brown thing on the left. That’s gotta be a hazelnut ice cream. Sweet geezus it was. I ate that at first then I ate the 3rd one then I ate the middle.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Here’s that big window I looked out at pondering my meal at Eleven Madison Park.

Eleven Madison Park Aug 2011

Then I handed over my credit card, winced and signed.

Thank you Danny Meyer. That was freaking awesome.

Next time I’m coming back for dinner.

