Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


This post is about my 2nd time at L’Atelier De Robuchon. Now In Landmark, Central, Hong Kong and not in Roppongi, Japan.

Much better company and still amazing food.

We got there early for our 7:30pm reservation so we were relatively pleased with ourselves.
Last time, SOMEONE deliberately tried to make me late to my reservation. I threatened to not eat the whole day if I missed it.

They handed me the must-have-been 15 pound wine list and to tell you the truth, I was a little overwhelmed by it. So many pages of wine, mostly out of my budget. I finally found a bottle that fit my budget and our food.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

The wine had to be decanted as it was relatively young. Then my brother (my chosen companion of the evening) asked, “why does the wine have to be decanted?” The sommelier didn’t even get to answer. I answered him automatically. It was like an automatic response.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

After choosing the wine, I finally made the decision to try the Decouverte menu (degustation menu) which was 3x the price of the menu I originally planned to take. I decided to go for the Decouverte Menu as I’m only there once in a lifetime and the 4-course menu I choose at the Japan outlet didn’t really satisfy my taste buds.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Here are the courses in Photos:

L’Amuse Bouche: Avocado Mousse and Gelatin – not a big fan of avocado but this did tease my taste buds by confusing it and had elements of salt and avocado
L'Atelier De Robuchon

Le Caviar Osciètre: Langoustine Mousse and Fennel Puree under Osciètre Caviar
L'Atelier De Robuchon

This was fabulous. It came in its own Robuchon tin and had explosive flavors brought by the caviar and the langoustine mousse. This dish worried me a bit as I’m allergic to crustaceans. I wasn’t sure if it would hit me so I didn’t drink wine with this course although I did a little wine and food pairing taste just to see if it complemented each other and it surprisingly did.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Le Foie Gras: Warm Duck Foie Gras in Caramelized Onion Compote and Black Truffle

This dish was the best one for the night. I even enjoyed it more than my main course. How can you go wrong with foie gras? Well with this dish, they upped it by combining it with Caramelized Onion compote which tastes like French Onion soup in concentrate and Black Truffle. It had an amazing earthy and woodsy quality which also brought the maillard reactions in the foie gras. The sweetness was highlighted by the onion compote and the truffle brought out the earthiness. I kinda wished there were two of these.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Le Foie Gras

L’Oursin: Shining Sea Urchin Cream in Delicated Wasabi Emulsion

Very delicate flavors but trademark sea urchin flavors are definitely brought out.

L'Atelier De Robuchon
L'Atelier De Robuchon

Le Homard: Maine Lobster with Caramelized Cauliflower and Tamarin Cream Sauce

Again, another danger dish. But I miss the flavors of the lobster so I just ignored the voices in my head.
Luckily, my allergy didn’t break out which means I got to enjoy the lobster, no matter how tiny. Didn’t really taste the tamarind but that’s okay.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Le Black Cod: Cod fish fillet marinated in sake and mirin on daikon soup

Tasted like gindara teriyaki! That’s all I remember from it.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Main Course

La Piece De Boeuf: Pan-seared Wagyu Beef with Aromatics (mine)

Can’t really go wrong with wagyu. I liked the tiny crispy onions on top and the cheese tuile on the side.
I do have to say I prefer my brother’s main course more.
L'Atelier De Robuchon

La Caille: Free Range Quail with foie gras, served with mashed potatoes (brother’s main)

So many intricate flavors on this with the tenderness of the quail….Mmmmmm!

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Desserts

Le Fraise: Strawberry and Mascarpone Cream in Spiced Syrup with Verbena Jelly

This dessert was so amazing. It reminded me of homemade strawberries and cream on chiffon cake made by my host mother in Florence, Italy. That sugar flake was really delicate but exploded with strawberries upon reaching the tongue.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

La Sphére: Pina Colada in sugar pearl on fine coconut cream

This one had pineapple sorbet inside with coconut cream and basil. Would have been great if there was a kid next to me. They would have loved to crack the sugar ball with a spoon. But since I’m a giant kid, I enjoyed cracking it myself. Just like the cocktail, pretty awesome.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Here’s the inside view.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Last but not the least: CHOCOLATES!

Some truffle, some macaroons, a madeline, and some awesome tiny chocolate thingies in the gold pellets.

L'Atelier De Robuchon

Overall an awesome experience. One for the books.

