Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


Time sure flies by when I have a job! HAHA
Kidding aside, between my job and my errands/school on weekends, I can barely find time to post on here.

Good thing my boss sent me to attend this charity wine dinner sponsored by Titania Wine Cellars. Together with the charity dinner was a beauty pageant called Miss Mouton Cadet where each restaurant/hotel sent/had a representative to participate.

Our Candidate:
BPR Charity Wine Dinner

The wines were from the Mouton Cadet of Baron Philippe De Rothschild and the cuisine was French-Cantonese.
Personally, would have been better that they just left it at Cantonese. Li Li’s is such an amazing Chinese restaurant.

MENU: (with my comments)

BPR Charity Wine Dinner

Amuse-Bouche
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
Crispy Suckling Pig – crispy! pretty light; wine’s slight acidity cut through the fat;
Jelly Fish in Sesame Seed Oil – tasty, texture threw me off even though I’ve eaten Jellyfish before. almost barfed it out when I remembered it was jellyfish, but managed to swallow it before anything embarrassing happened
Free-Range Soya Chicken – tender, cooked just perfectly, not dry, light flavor
Char Sui Pork – sweet glaze brought out fruit in wine
Mouton Cadet Blanc 2009

BPR Charity Wine DinnerMouton Cadet Blanc

La Soupe
Oven-Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Mixed Seafood
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
Mouton Cadet Blanc 2009

Le Premier Plat
Steamed Lapu-Lapu in Soy Demi- Glaze, Dried Ham, Julienne of Vegetables – matches when eaten with the soy glaze; otherwise each can stand without each other;
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
Mouton Cadet Rouge 2008
BPR Charity Wine Dinner

Le Deuxieme Plat
Charcoal Pipa Duck, Fried Rice with Foie Gras – lots of fat on this one; couldn’t taste the foie gras in the fried rice but we were one of the last tables to be served so perhaps they were scrimping on the foie gras towards the end; haha

BPR Charity Wine Dinner

Baron Nathaniel Pauillac 2008 – pretty rusty, packs a punch, has that rubbery aroma again; good but not my preference
BPR Charity Wine Dinner

BPR Charity Wine Dinner

Assiette De Fromage
Brie De Meaux, Gruyere Vieux, Fourme D’Ambert

BPR Charity Wine Dinner
BPR Charity Wine Dinner

I really liked the plate that came with the bread.
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
I found it really cute and I’m not really a girl who notices plates.
Anyway, my manager told me to try putting butter on the bread when eating with the cheese. Her French boss told her before that it was something nice to try. I liked it because it brought out the milky components in the cheese (duh). Translation: I’m lazy in chewing food so adding my butter allowed me to slide it down my throat without chewing. HAHA

Chateau Clerc Milon Grand Cru Classe, Pauillac 2003 – much, much better; lighter than previous wine but smoother to drink; quite enjoyable especially with the cheese which was my favorite course; Wine has the trademark Bordeaux pleasantries I’ve experienced with other wines of this caliber;

BPR Charity Wine Dinner

Le Dessert
Mango Pudding, Cream, Diced Mango, Sesame Tuile
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
Mouton Cadet Reserve Sauternes 2005 – reminded me of just cooked steamed lobster with that tinge of sweetness but then dropped into simple syrup, then you drink that simple syrup; with that analogy, this Sauternes was unlike other Sauternes I’ve had; too sweet for my taste (if you drink it on its own); would have been better with a chocolate dessert; enjoyed the mango pudding however, especially with the sesame tuile;
BPR Charity Wine Dinner
kind of wished I was closer to the other guests on my table so I could snatch it off their plates like I do with my friends’ food.

BPR Charity Wine Dinner

‘Til Sunday folks (when I try that Shanghai-based restaurant in Connecticut)!
I hope it’s authentic and the buzz does not disappoint.

