Tags

, , , , , , ,


Being a picky eater makes it hard for me to eat anywhere at a given place. It’s especially difficult here in the Philippines as I’m not a big fan of local food. The flavor combinations are strange, the textures are strange, and the ingredients are foreign as I didn’t grow up cooking with them. Since I started work, I’ve dropped 6 pounds as I barely eat staff meal. I’ve started bringing my own food in but even then, I don’t really have an appetite when I’m working.

I’m glad for the 2 days off I had as the Filipinos are on holidays so I woke up early despite partying the previous night until 4am to buy my meat. I got to Santi’s and the line was SOOOOOOO LONG. Normally I’m in and out of there in 15 minutes but it took at least 45 minutes this time. I was the only one in line with an non-fabricated and non-marinated piece of meat.

I bought this small baby right here about 2 kilos.

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

I struggled taking out the aitch bone but succeeded. While I hacked at the aitch bone, my two dogs were walking in circles around me. Giving me the face:

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

Then I marinated it in a paste of anchovy, garlic and rosemary while I took a nap. I love anchovies but if you don’t like anchovies, you can barely taste it. I woke up around 5:30pm and tossed it in the oven and let my probe thermometer do the work. HAHAHA. I set it at 130F but it’s a little too cooked for my tastes so next time I’m keeping it at 125F.

Finished product:
Making Roast Leg of Lamb

Served with truffle mashed potatoes and a Pascal Jolivet Sancerre 2008.

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

Making Roast Leg of Lamb

